Skip to content

Iced Coffee and Caramel Lattes

November 27, 2014

I’m not a big coffee drinker, but if I’m going to get a coffee drink, my favorite is an iced caramel latte. When we got an espresso maker as a wedding gift, we bought a bottle of Starbuck’s caramel syrup so we could make our own caramel lattes at home. I never did quite catch on to how to make a good espresso, even after a couple of lessons from friends. But then I came across this iced coffee recipe on The Pioneer Woman Cooks and since I want my latte cold anyway, it was just what I needed. It requires no special equipment and since it’s made ahead of time it just sits in the fridge until I’m ready to drink it. All I have to do is remember to buy half and half.

iced latte

To make the coffee, get a large container or mixing bowl, add 1/4 pound of coffee and pour over 2 quarts cold water, stir it up, cover and leave overnight. (You can make as much or as little as you want–Ree’s version makes about 2 gallons with 1 pound of coffee, but I don’t have a container that big and it would take me forever to finish that much coffee.)

The next day, place a few layers of cheesecloth or a coffee filter in a fine mesh strainer and slowly pour the liquid through the strainer. Store the coffee in an airtight container in the fridge. It should keep for about a month. You could also make some of it into coffee ice cubes to make an iced late that won’t get diluted as the ice melts.

To make an iced caramel latte, fill a tall glass with ice cubes, pour the chilled coffee concentrate about 3/4 of the way up, add half and half and caramel syrup to taste.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

