Skip to content

Swedish Tea Cakes

November 19, 2014

This is one of those cookies, in my opinion, that tastes better than it looks (another is Brown Sugar Cookies). There’s nothing wrong with how they look, but they just don’t look as exciting as say, chocolate chip cookies. I’m not sure why I made these the first time, since I expected them to be rather boring. It was probably because I had jam to use up, which is usually the reason I make these cookies, but once I tasted them, they became one of my favorites. They freeze well (before filling with jam) and you can make them with whatever kind of chopped nuts and jam you have. I like to make them with walnuts and raspberry jam as my first choice, but more recently I’ve made them with pecans and blueberry jam and orange marmalade and that was delicious too. I haven’t tried a combination yet that I didn’t like.

swedish tea cakes

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg yolk

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

1 egg white, beaten with a fork

2/3 cup finely chopped nuts, for coating

6 Tbsp jam, jelly, or marmalade

Cream butter and brown sugar. Add egg yolk and beat well. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt in a separate bowl then add to butter mixture. Stir well to form a stiff dough. Roll into balls, using 2 tsp dough per ball.  Dip each ball in the egg white then roll in nuts. Place on parchment lined or greased cookie sheets. Dent each cookie with your thumb.

Bake at 325 degree F for 5 min. Remove and press dents again. Bake 10-15 minutes more, or until golden. Let stand 5 min before removing to wire racks to cool.

Fill each cookie with 1 tsp jam right before serving. Store unfilled cookies in an airtight container. Makes about 20.

(Recipe adapted from Company’s Coming Most Loved Treats by Jean Pare)

From → Cookies

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

