Skip to content

Toasted Coconut Popsicles

May 4, 2014

These are the most delicious popsicles/cubes I’ve made so far, and they are so easy. I had one minor problem, but it ended up making the popsicles better rather than worse. When I was toasting the coconut, it got dark a lot faster than I expected and I was afraid I had burned it, but I set it aside to cool instead of tossing it right in the garbage, while I started over and toasted a new tray of coconut. I was very glad I saved the first batch though– it turned out that the popsicles were even better when they were dipped in the dark toasted coconut. It adds a nice contrast with the sweet, creamy popsicle–a very fortunate mistake. 🙂

The recipe made 6 popsicles, which filled up my popsicle molds, so I added the rest of the mixture to a silicone ice cube tray. I really liked the little coconut cubes–they are even soft enough to eat with a fork (which makes it easy to keep dipping them in more coconut)–and they are the perfect size for a little treat.

coconut cubes

3/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut (plus more for dipping)

1 (13.5 oz) can coconut milk

1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk

2/3 cup half-and-half  (or you can substitute a mixture of 1/3 cream with 2/3 milk, which is what I used)

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Spread the coconut on a cookie sheet and toast in the oven at 325 degrees F for a few minutes, until lightly toasted (it will smell delicious and be a light golden color). Stir every couple minutes to help it toast evenly and make sure it doesn’t get too dark.  To make extra coconut for dipping, toast it until it is a bit darker.

Mix the rest of the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Stir in the lightly toasted coconut. Fill your popsicle molds, ice cube trays, or whatever you have, and freeze them until solid–about 4-5 hours (may take less for smaller cubes).  Serve with a little bowl of toasted coconut for dipping.

(Recipe adapted from Paletas by Fany Gerson.)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

