Skip to content

Jambalaya

February 2, 2014

I tried this simplified jambalaya when I found some andouille sausages on sale. I had to adapt it a bit because I didn’t have all the ingredients, but we liked it a lot!  The original recipe calls for adding shrimp during the last 5 minutes of cooking the rice. The original recipe (which is from America’s Test Kitchen’s Best 30 Minute Recipe and is supposed to take 30 minutes) also calls for using instant rice. I wanted to use short grain brown rice, so it took quite a bit longer to cook…maybe an hour altogether.

jambalaya

1 Tbsp vegetable oil

8 oz. andouille sausages, halved and sliced

1 onion, minced

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 tsp Old Bay or Creole seasoning*

1 1/2 cups rice

5 garlic cloves, minced

1 Tbsp tomato paste

4 cups low-sodium chicken broth (or 1 3/4 cups if using instant rice)

2 Tbsp minced fresh parsley

Heat the oil in a 12-inch pan over medium heat until shimmering. Add onion, andouille, Old Bay, and 1/2 tsp salt. Cook about 5 min, until onion is softened. Add red pepper, rice, garlic and tomato paste and cook till fragrant, about 30 sec.

Add broth and bring to simmer, scraping up any browned bits. Cover and cook over medium low for about 40 min, or until the liquid is absorbed (or about 5 min. for instant rice). Let sit off heat for a few minutes. Sprinkle with fresh parsley.

*I didn’t have any Old Bay or Creole seasoning, but since I had most of the spices in my kitchen, I mixed up a substitute (loosely based on this one) that worked wonderfully:

-First, I ground up a bunch of bay leaves in a spice grinder. It took awhile, but the smell and flavor were really great! I can’t remember how many I used, but I think I ended up with around 1 tsp of powder.

-Then I added maybe a 1/2 tsp or so of: celery salt, pepper

-About a 1/4 tsp of: dry mustard, smoked paprika

-A large pinch of: ground ginger, nutmeg, red pepper flakes

-A small pinch of: ground cloves, cardamom, allspice

This mixture made more than enough to make this recipe several times.

From → Main Dishes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

