Skip to content

Back to the blog and wedding pictures!

January 24, 2014

So, it’s been a while since my last post.  For anyone reading this who doesn’t know me, last August I got engaged, then planned a wedding for November, moved to a new state, went on a honeymoon and went home for Christmas, while also working full time and job hunting (for part of it). Unfortunately, this didn’t leave as much time as I would have liked for cooking and blogging about it… or anything else for that matter.

But now I’m settled into my new kitchen, with new cookbooks to explore and gadgets to test out. And I have a very willing guinea pig for my culinary experiments :). We’ve been trying lots of new recipes and I can’t wait to share the best ones.

But first, some wedding pictures. Our photographer was Julia from I M Fotography, and she did a fantastic job:

I M FOTOGRAPHY (90 of 125)Post-wedding pictures in Lincoln Park

I M FOTOGRAPHY (52 of 125)

You can’t tell how FREEZING we were!

I M FOTOGRAPHY (15 of 237)The groom and groomsmen at Moody Church

I M FOTOGRAPHY (125 of 237)

I M FOTOGRAPHY (130 of 237)Our “unplugged” ceremony. It was so beautiful to walk down the aisle and see everyone’s faces, rather than a bunch of screens and phones and cameras.  That was one of my favorite moments of the day.

I M FOTOGRAPHY (44 of 125)

And wedding food pictures:

I M FOTOGRAPHY (3 of 3)

The wedding cheese cake.  A few years ago I was in Cardiff, Wales, and there was a cheese shop that specialized in wedding cheese cakes like this. I always thought that would be fun to have one, but I’ve never heard of anyone else making them.   I went to the cheese counter at Whole Foods and explained what I wanted and they helped me pick out whole rounds of cheese that would work. I ended up getting (from bottom to top): cranberry-chipotle cheddar, santa theresa, drunken goat, and brie. Yum.

I M FOTOGRAPHY (54 of 138)
And we had a regular cake too, from Sweet Mandy B’s. It was delicious.

It was amazing how beautifully everything came together in such a short time. I’m so thankful for all the help we got from friends and family and even total strangers.  And I’m very thankful for my wonderful husband.  🙂

Our theme for our wedding was from Philippians 1:9-11.  I always thought this passage was especially appropriate for a wedding: “And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless until the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ–to the glory and praise of God.”

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. re: mom kathryn very proud of her daughter permalink

    It is amazing and very inspirational how your wedding stories were. I for one is a believer
    That good husband/wife comes from God and they keep them together for a whole lot
    Of reasons…..love most of all♥ all the best to the newly weds and more blessings.
    Lovely pictures !

  2. What beautiful pictures Emily! You can’t tell how cold we were in our wedding pictures either… it was freezing that day 🙂 Everything came out so lovely!

  3. Liz Fledderjohann permalink

    Emily, I am thrilled to see you back here–and I very much look forward to seeing photos and reading about what you’re cooking, and anything else you share! Mrs. Fledderjohann

Leave a Reply

