Skip to content

The DONE List

March 7, 2012

Every once in a while I have a not-necessarily-recipe-related idea that I feel I need to post somewhere. So until I make a miscellaneous blog, I’ll just have to use this one.

I’ve always liked to-do lists, and I was about to make one for today when I realized I need a new kind of list.  Not a to-do list, but a DONE list. To-do lists give an illusion of accomplishment in putting things on a list, but they also cause a lot of problems (see this blog post for a good description).

I suggest making a whole new kind of list, the DONE list. You can’t put something on the list until it’s done. It focuses on what you actually achieved today.

Then, you can look back at your DONE list and feel a sense of accomplishment rather than guilt for all the things on the list.

Instead of using a to-do list as a procrastination tool, the DONE list makes you just do the things you need to do, then you can have the satisfaction of putting them on the list. I’m going to try it out.

Today’s DONE list so far:

-changed sheets
-did laundry
-posted a recipe
-created a DONE list
-wrote about it

I need to go do some more things so I can put them on my list!

Well, it was working really well until I got sidetracked looking through my pictures, but I managed to add:

-took out 6 bags of trash

-had a picnic lunch in Ping Tom park on a beautiful day with my favorite Bread Salad and chocolate ice cream

-And a delicious dinner is in the oven. But I’ll post that recipe another day… It’s on my to-do list. 🙂

skyline from Ping Tom Park

canal and bridge

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Mom permalink

    My DONE list:
    Read new post’s on the Art of Delicious
    Think about making one of the recipes
    Eat frozen dessert out of freezer

  2. Mom permalink

    Quote:” Instead of using a to-do list as a procrastination tool, the DONE list makes you just do the things you need to do, then you can have the satisfaction of putting them on the list. I’m going to try it out.”

    ….wait a minute, “using a to-do list as a procrastination tool”? That sounds rather cynical. I don’t see it that way. Lots of other ways to procrastinate…to-do lists are vital to accomplishment in my world! Wait until you get old and your memory goes! Love, Mom

  3. I’m just speaking from experience. But the essential things to do have to be on my calendar. Is that still a to-do list?

    • Mom permalink

      Calendar vs To-Do list.
      Is a to-do list by any other name still a to-do list? Is that a rhetorical question?

Leave a Reply

