Skip to content

A CSA Season in Review: Part 2 – Highlights

November 3, 2011

Here’s what I liked best from this year’s CSA:

1. Having everything delivered to my door.

2. Taking lots of pictures of vegetables.

peppers-greenpeppers-red

3. Sour cherries in the Fresh Cherry Crisp. I still think this was the best fruit dessert I ate all year (despite the uninspiring photo that accompanies it)

beet sandwich

4. Beets, roasted and marinated in a sandwich with goat cheese and arugala on a homemade baguette. Probably the best sandwich I had this year. (Recipes from My Bread by Jim Lahey)

peppers

5. Jalapeno peppers in the Bacon-Wrapped Stuffed Jalapenos

salad salad and dressing

6. Some random salads I made with a bunch of bits of things, including leftover garlic mayonnaise mixed with a bit of leftover mustard vinaigrette for the dressing. Delicious! And aren’t those colorful little carrots so cute?

7. Sweet corn, used for Elote

potatoes

8. Potatoes in Dijon Potato Salad

9. These amazing Blueberry Muffins

10. I’m still not a big radish fan, but this Asparagus and White Bean Salad with Feta and Lemon Dressing (and Radishes) was wonderful

radishes

11. Golden-Crusted Bussels Sprouts

hanging peppers

Peppers turning from green to red. I got my Christmas decorations up early 🙂

12. And of course, the fresh eggs. Oh, I will miss these.

omelet

It wasn’t always easy to use things when they were ready, but next time I will be more prepared and have my recipes ready to go!

13. And finally, dressing up as produce from Big Head Farm to get $2 burritos at Chipotle on Halloween (the theme was “Family Farms”).

At Chipotle in costume

In case you can't tell, we are an egg, a green bean, an asparagus spear, and a sunflower

Egg and Green Bean at Chipotle

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. bigheadfarm permalink

    That is AWESOME!!! Thank you so much for your support of our little farm! Please come out and visit one day so we can show you where we grow everything! XOXXX Karen & Jody

  2. Kim permalink

    LOVE the pic from Chipotle. You are the coolest, Emily. 🙂

Leave a Reply

