Skip to content

Fresh Cherry Crisp

July 21, 2011

This gets my vote for the best dessert I’ve made so far this summer.  I got a bunch of sour cherries from my CSA and if I had known how good (and easy) this would be, I would have made it sooner, before half the cherries went bad in the fridge…now I know for next time!

You can eat it with ice cream, which is good.  But it is amazing with a slice of haloumi, a salty Greek cheese.  I don’t usually eat cheese with my dessert, but I may have to start.

Fresh Cherry Crisp

4 cups pitted sour cherries
¾ cups sugar (may need to adjust based on how sour the cherries are)
4 Tbsp flour
¾ cup flour
½ cup rolled oats
½ cup brown sugar
¼ cup butter
Preheat oven to 375 F.  Combine cherries, sugar and 4 Tbsp flour.  Put in a baking dish (I used a loaf pan).  Combine ¾ cups flour, oats and brown sugar.  Cut in butter until crumbly.  Sprinkle over cherries. (There may be some topping left over.)  Bake 45-50 minutes, or until topping is golden brown.

Pitting the cherries 4 at a time with my new cherry pitter

The cherries go in there

And when you close it, it pokes the pits out, like a hole puncher. It’s very fun.

Mixing the filling

The topping

Ready to eat!

halloumi

This is sliced halloumi, fried in a little olive oil

From → Desserts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

