Skip to content

Kale Chips

July 20, 2011

Last night my roommate and I were both hungry for a snack and I was going through the fridge and cringing because of all the rotting vegetables I was having to throw away.  So I rescued the kale by making kale chips. Kale chips are what I expected those tasteless little seaweed rectangles to taste like.  They are salty, crispy, and delicious … and maybe even healthy!

Kale Chips

Remove stems from one bunch of kale.   Tear into chip-sized pieces, wash and dry in salad spinner.

Toss with a little bit of olive oil, spread on a baking sheet and sprinkle with a generous pinch of sea salt (the kale shrinks a LOT in the oven and the last two times I made this I ended up putting on way too much oil and salt…it tasted delicious, but it was a little much.  Put on about half as much as you think you’ll need).

Bake at 350 F for about 15 min.  Take out any chips that are ready and keep baking the rest until they crisp up.  Enjoy!

The kale chips just after I put them in the oven

This is how much they shrink

They didn't last long...

From → Vegetables

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

